everyone’s an expert

Four years ago I was watching the diving from Beijing at breakfast time with coffee and cereal. I became an expert on the straightness of the dives, the splashback, the pikes and somersaults. This year, I’m watching the diving from London with wine, brushing up my judging skillz. Apparently the Olympics makes an expert out of everyone…

This year, I was fortunate enough to actually attend some of the Olympics in London. The atmosphere was phenomenal, and even my usually slightly ambivalent attitude to being British was washed away in a wave of cheering. I may have even worn red white and blue on purpose…

I feel so privileged to now have been to two Olympics in my lifetime (Sydney 2000 and London 2012), and I am seriously contemplating another (who’s up for Rio 2016?)

This entry was posted in memories and musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

